Show Navigation

The Frank Gilruth Collection

Iconic Scotland

Lincluden Abbey, Dumfries

Period:
20th Century
Description:

This religious house was founded circa 1160 and was used for a variety of purposes, until it was abandoned around 1700. In 1389, Archibald the 3rd Earl of Douglas was granted permission by the Pope to replace the priory with a college of canons. In the 1400s renovations were done to make the abbey a grander establishment; part of the renovations was to accommodate the spectacular tomb of Princess Margaret, daughter of King Robert III and widow of the 4th Earl of Douglas.



Source:
Dumfries Museum & Camera Obscura
Accession number:
DUMFM:2010.42.1.22
Digital Number:
DMFG042a-b


Alternative Views:

alternative small picturealternative small picture